I changed my mind

7 Aug

That’s how it started. I wanted something different.  And to get something different, I knew I had to do something different. This is the story of why I changed my mind, what I decided to do, and how I got there. I guess I should start from the beginning…

I was born at a very early age…..sorry I couldn’t resist.

My path to getting something different technically started in May 2012, but really its been a long time coming.  I had 2 goals in mind: survive Disney in July and get back to half marathons. It seemed doable, but almost impossible. I struggled to finish a 15 minute segment of a low impact exercise dvd.  I was a size 22 knocking on 24. My endurance was zilch and my doubt was big.  I was addicted to sugar and ate few, if any vegetables.  And then I changed my mind.

I had a glimpse of the life I wanted. I knew what it felt like to be active and do more than I ever thought I could. In 2004, I was the last person to finish the Country Music Marathon. I walked for just short of 8 hours. The race was delayed by rain, my socks were wet, my legs were cramping, my blisters were huge, I was followed by an ambulance, every part of my body hurt, and I was congratulated by John Bingham (Waddle On Friends) in the first aid tent.  While finishing the marathon and the grand sense of accomplishment was my main goal at the time, it is the training that I miss the most. I woke up on Saturday mornings at 6:00 am to build the miles. I went to the Y and got on the treadmill A LOT. I would come home and ask my room mate “who kicks ass?” because I felt INCREDIBLE.  That’s what I wanted again.

I changed my mind.  Some days its easy to be the “new” me. Some days I have to remind myself every 5 minutes why I changed my mind.  Some days I get mad at all the things that brought me to where I am. Some days I have to ask for help because I know it would be so easy to go back to where I was before. Some days I’m not sure I can really do it. Some days I think that if I had to eat another salad I will die.  And on this day, I decided to write my story.  Mostly for me, so when I am discouraged I can go back and read how far I have come.  It’s here for you too.  Hopefully you will find it worth reading…and maybe a little motivating.

5 Responses to “I changed my mind”

  1. Mala August 7, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    I really like your gritty, honest tone, Anne! Best of luck with your goals! My best friend is on the same track as you, aiming for a half marathon. And I thought this book would be interesting for you as well: The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.

  2. t marie August 7, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    As a matter of fact, you did encourage me Anne. Thanks. 🙂

  3. Berenice August 7, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    This is great! You already are a motivation!

  4. Barb August 7, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Love it! I can’t wait to celebrate the “Accomplished YOU” 🙂

  5. Carolyn August 9, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I am so glad you decided to start blogging! Now I can “hear” you even when I don’t get a chance to see you in person 🙂

Leave a Reply

