Cloudy with 90% chance of crabby

10 Aug

Bad days…we all have them. Yesterday was a bad day. It was cloudy and I was not the only crabby butt at work.  I was craving salt like it’s nobody’s business and I was exhausted all frickin’ day.  Went to the exercise room to put my feet up the wall during lunch and even that did not give me a boost of energy.  Got home from work and took a short nap for the second day in a row. As the night went on, I got antsy and bored and then I turned in to the salt monster. Like I was on autopilot, I went to the kitchen and popped some popcorn, poured some melted butter over it, and covered it in salt.  Mmmmmmm….salt.

 

I ate it and then felt horrible. The salt craving was satisfied but then I felt guilty. I didn’t need these calories (I didn’t really want them either) and it’s too late to be eating anyway. Even more, I knew I would have to explain myself to my “eating police” person. Crap. Why does it always seem to come back to this?

 

To get something different, you have to do something different.

 

I watch a lot of HGTV and as Mike Holmes says, “make it right”. So I pulled out my phone, got on Loseit.com and figured out how long I would have to work out to burn the calories I just ate. I put my gym shoes on and popped in the 4 mile Leslie Sansone walking DVD. An hour and a half later I was done and getting ready for bed. I did the stinkin’ DVD twice. Lesson learned? Maybe. Did I feel better? Yes. Am I still nervous about talking to the “eating police”? Yes. Will I do this again?  Probably.  Will it be the end of the world? No. For me, the day was not perfect but it was good enough.

 

5 Responses to “Cloudy with 90% chance of crabby”

  1. Just Sayin August 10, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    If you sprinkle parmesean cheese on your popcorn then you won’t feel as much guilt.

  2. t marie August 12, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Your honesty is helpful to me. It’s real encouragement. And know this- you are not the sum of your mistakes. When you fall, get up (just like you did!). I’m proud of you.

  3. bunna99 August 13, 2012 at 2:12 am #

    I love your honesty, Anne! You did the right thing and I’m so proud of ya for seeing it through! *hugs*

  4. bunna99 August 13, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    I love your honesty, Anne! And so proud that you saw an opportunity to right your wrong! *hugs*

    Carolyn

  5. Jill Hernandez August 16, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    Wow. I remember when the walking DVD was difficult for you, you have come so far! I am loving your blog, so glad you started!

Leave a Reply

