Oops…I just ran my first 5k

12 Aug

My friend Carolyn invited me to walk with her family at their church’s 5k.  I fully intended on walking and I have email evidence to prove it.  As we all lined up, my feet started to twitch.  Carolyn looked at me and said “Go run. I know you can do it. I don’t want to hold you back”. At first I didn’t want to because I really was there just to hang out with her and the family.  But then I really wanted to….why not? I had my hot shoes on, my running watch, and a bottle of water.  So I asked if she was sure because I didn’t want to be a jerk.  She said to go, and so I did.

 

Luckily it was a nice and flat run, mile and a half out and back.  I didn’t do intervals, instead I just ran for as long as I could and then walked until my heart rate was back down.  God bless Garmin sports watches.  Here is a picture of me a little more than half way through the race.

 

Two lessons were learned today.  1-when a chance at success presents itself, go for it. I didn’t over think it, I didn’t worry about it, I just got in there and did the best that I could do.

 

2-surround yourself with people that believe in you and are happy to see you succeed.  Carolyn could have said that she was really looking forward to talking while walking and made me feel guilty for wanting to run.  She didn’t. Without hesitation she said “go”. It wasn’t about my new physical abilities reminding her of where she is with hers. It wasn’t about who finished the race first. It wasn’t about missing an hour of gossip. It was about me trying to be a better me and Carolyn’s unconditional support of that goal.  Friends like this are priceless…keep them close!

4 Responses to “Oops…I just ran my first 5k”

  1. t marie August 12, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I may annoy you with all my comments, but I’m seriously proud of you. (And I thank you for the encouragement I feel.)

  2. bunna99 August 13, 2012 at 2:15 am #

    You make me so proud to be your friend! I had a great time cheering you on to victory by running your first 5k! I KNEW you could do it!! You’re such a rock star diva 😉

  3. Barb August 14, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    And YOU are one of those friends to me! 🙂

  4. Jill Hernandez August 16, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    Congratulations!!! This is such a great accomplishment! Wahooooooo!

Leave a Reply

