The secret to change

17 Aug

It seems like every other day I am seeing somebody I haven’t seen in a while and get a “Wow, Anne, you look great!” Most of the time it’s followed by “what are you doing?” or “what’s your secret?”

 

Well, I am here to tell you there is no secret to losing weight. The internet is full of good information (and unfortunately bad information) on how to eat and exercise. There are magazines to read, television shows to watch, bloggers to follow (get it? Bloggers to follow…..hahaha), and a million other resources to inform and inspire.

 

Since some of you are dying to know, here are the things that I am doing differently…all leading to my success:

  • Evidence and food police (100% accurate tracking and accountability)
  • Clean eating (no more processed food for this girl!)
  • Vegetables, vegetables, vegetables
  • Getting active (every day something, with “serious work” 6 days a week)
  • Asking for what I need (even if I feel like I’m oversharing)
  • Managing stress without food

 

I’m guessing some of you are disappointed.  What, no secret potion?  No magic recipe to shed the pounds?  Nope. Sorry.  The best things in life don’t come to those who wait…they come to those who work their butts off for it.

 

Here’s the real secret.  When I think about what my life will look like in the future, I expect it will be different. I expect to be free the struggle with food. I expect I will be able to run a half marathon. I expect I will be eating a lot of vegetables. I expect to eat pasta only once a year. I expect to manage my stress in better ways. I expect that I will forgive myself and others. I expect to feel a sense of accomplishment like no other. I expect I will be getting a tattoo to remind myself where I never want to go back to (don’t hold me to this last one…I may chicken out and buy jewelry instead).

 

In the meantime, I expect this to be difficult…and doable. I expect there will be bad days…and good days. I expect the doubt and worry…and that I will get through. I expect the injuries…and the healing time. I expect that my struggle with food will continue…and the drastic improvement I will continue to see overtime. I expect feeling alone and tired…and the overwhelming support I will get from my friends and family. I expect the frustration…and the elation.

 

I expect something different. I dream of something different. I know I can make something different happen. Admittedly, I am a little scared about something different in my life. Bottom line, to get something different, you need to do something different.  The secret’s out, but don’t tell anyone you heard it from me.

2 Responses to “The secret to change”

  1. Carey August 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I am a big fan of your blog, Anne! I’m also on my own ‘get something different’ journey. Keep the posts coming!

  2. t marie August 29, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    I am crazy proud of you. Not just for what you’ve accomplished, but for the amazing example you are. You are being transparent and honest. People need to hear that it will be hard, but doable. Great job Anne

Leave a Reply

