Worth more than a million

22 Aug

This morning started like any other morning. Denver was sitting at the foot of my bed making his presence known. God forbid I don’t get up right away and take him out…instead I rolled over and slept until 6:30. I’m a mean mommy, especially in the morning. Finally I got up, took him out, gave him food, and jumped in the shower.

 

I was rummaging through my laundry basket deciding what to wear (because if you know me, you know how I avoid putting away clothes until someone comes over). Inside the basket are the “what fits” options. The clothes are from three locations: the dryer, recent clearance purchases, and clothes I found in a box in my closet, saved in the hopes that “one day” I would be able to fit into them again. I put on a purple t-shirt from the “one day” pile and a pair of gray pants that I bought on clearance at the beginning of the summer. When I tried them on back in June, they were too small. This morning they fit just fine. I left my bedroom with a big smile on my face. Suddenly, today feels a little magical.

 

As I went to the kitchen to grab my snacks for the day, I caught a glimpse of myself in the living room mirror. I couldn’t believe it. I had to take a second look. It’s a frumpy outfit, definitely more on the casual side of business casual, and nothing to write home about. I looked at myself again in the mirror. I feel – and look – like a million bucks today.

 

 

Hours later, I still can’t believe I am wearing these pants…I can’t believe how far I have come since June…In the grueling-est of moments, I toughed it out…I didn’t give up after my usual 5 weeks…I fought through the temptations and frustrations.

 

This, my friends, is evidence of success. This is evidence of doing something different. This feeling, these pants, this accomplishment, I would not trade for anything, not even a million bucks.

 

One Response to “Worth more than a million”

  1. t marie August 29, 2012 at 4:18 am #

    You DO look great, but what I really love is that you feel great!

Leave a Reply

