I’m tempted…

28 Sep

This morning I came to work to find this on the treat cart:

image

These treats appeared as a reward for the whole department completing a survey. Quite the reward huh?

For the first time in a long time I am tempted. Will it be the end of the world if I have a cookie? No. Will it be worth it? Probably not. Today will be the day of “what do you want more” and walking the long way around the office. To get something different, I need to do something different and that includes rewards. 6 months ago I would be all over these cookies. What do I want more? How can I get more?

Redefine rewards. A cookie is not a reward…it is an extra 15 minutes of running. I will like the sugar rush, but will soon have a sugar crash after…leading to more cookies. Mentally and physically, crap food is not rewarding. I will tell you what is rewarding…a killer workout, running my best time in a long time, sit ups, swinging a kettle ball… Exercise is the best choice. You may struggle and hate every minute of it, but it pays off. Physically your heart is pumping, you burn calories, and your brain releases all the feel good hormones. This helps take the urgency or the edge off of stress and you get to feel good for making a good decision for yourself.

Rewards are important to keep your motivation going. I buy myself a new pair of running shoes every 20 pounds. Today I will go shopping at lunch and treat myself to new under wear (real exciting, I know). I may be tempted to get some new workout clothes too. Even more, this might be the day for breaking 100 sit ups, getting me closer to a size 14 and more new clothes. Cookies are tempting but work and progress is rewarding. I chose the later. I choose me. I choose better. And somehow I’m no longer tempted.

Leave a Reply

