Three weeks of quiet

31 Oct

Yesterday I was reminded that I have not updated this blog since my birthday. Three weeks of silence…sorry about that. Truth is I have been struggling and don’t have much to say about it.  Or at least I’m not sure what I want to say about it. Now is a time where I wish I wrote a bunch of blog posts when I felt inspired. Maybe that would have helped to keep my butt in gear, I don’t know.

 

In the meantime, here is a random list of thoughts/lessons that have bubbled up over the last few weeks:

 

Life happens…you eat fried chicken…move on. No big deal.

 

Not every workout will be the best workout ever.

 

Generosity starts with giving your first fruits, not your left overs.

 

When you want to quit, remember why you started.

 

This is not an all-or-nothing game. I may not be 100% in today, but 85% is all right…aim for “good enough” most of the time.

 

When you think you are done, there is more work to do. Self-improvement is a continuous journey.

 

Home construction sucks. (Totally not related to weight loss, but it is the truth!)

 

It is not the fact that you failed, but what you do about it that matters.

 

Listen to what your body is telling you. Things hurt for a reason…physically or mentally. Stop and think about the cause and what you can do about it.

 

Change is uncomfortable, especially when you are entering brand new territory. Keep moving forward anyway.

 

Show yourself the grace that you give to others.

 

Accept the compliments…say “thank you”…even if the attention makes you feel uncomfortable.

 

Let go of size as the anchor of your identity.  It is one aspect of your physical condition…it does not define who you are.

 

When you struggle, go back to the basics. For me that means 100% accurate recording of food, accountability, exercise, drinking lots of water…and most importantly, believing I am worth it.

 

And finally, if you want something different, you need to do something different. And if it takes you weeks, months or years to get that “something different” to stick, it is worth the work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

