What does success look like?

9 Dec

These red boots…

red boots

How so?  Way back in June when I started this weight loss journey I sat down and thought about what I wanted out of all of this. I had a short term goal to “survive Disney”. Here is what that meant to me:

short term goal

Then I thought about my long term goal, where I wanted to be in a year. This is what I wanted:

long term goal

What is totally crazy to me is that I have already accomplished the long term list….well, almost…super close to the size 14 (technically I fit in Old Navy size 14 jeans so I’m calling it a win and if you get really technical I couldn’t walk 13 miles tomorrow but I have no doubt I could do it if I had a few weeks to build miles).

Lots of people have asked me what’s your goal weight?  I never had one…I had a goal life. Weight is one piece of data at one point in time. What you are able to do at that weight is the meaningful story. The lists above tell my meaningful story…all the things I wanted to be able to do and weight was one piece of the bigger picture.

So now I am trying to figure out what will go on my new list…what success looks like and feels like in the future.  I have no idea but I need to figure it out soon.  The lists I made kept me motivated because I knew what I was working towards.  When I asked myself “what do I want more” it was clear in my mind what I was choosing between.

To get something different I need to do something different…even when that means imagining a whole new different for myself.

Leave a Reply

