A letter to moms

1 Feb

I am not one of you. I have no idea what it is like to be pregnant or to have a child. I do not know the love and joy or the sacrifice and frustration that comes with being a mother. I do not know what it is like to be responsible for taking care of another human being 100% of the time. I do not know the worry that comes with a high fever, the pride that comes with watching your child succeed, or the sweetness of every day family moments. I do not know (and can’t imagine…you ladies are amazing) what it is like to work all day and then come home and take care of a family all night. I do not know what it is like to leave your little ones, if only for an hour or for a weekend. I don’t know what it’s like and can’t even relate to a big part of who you are and what you do.

What I do know, I can tell you with 100% certainty. While your kids need you now; they are going to need you just as much in the future. Please take care of yourself, mind, body and spirit. Be intentional about it. Be mindful. Maybe even get a little selfish with it. Take care of yourself first so you can take care of others, now and in the future.

Yeah right, Anne. In what time? How am I supposed to do that? I am doing all I can and you want me to add something else? Who are you to judge what I do for my family?

I don’t know what the answer is. I’m not saying that you don’t take care of yourself…just wondering…do you do enough for you sometimes?

I am speaking for your kids and what they don’t know they need just yet (and what I’m guessing you haven’t even thought about yet). My mom died of brain cancer when I was 10. I am lucky in remembering bits and pieces of her. I am lucky to have other peoples’ moms step in and help me when I needed it most. And I am the most lucky that in those 10 short years that I was able to pick up enough of her for people to say “now that was something your mom would do”.

I can’t even imagine what it would be like to have a mom right now. I don’t know what it is like to pick up the phone and have her listen to a story about my day. She was not there to watch me graduate. She didn’t get to celebrate my first job. She never saw my apartment in Nashville. She has never played fetch with my dog. She isn’t going to be there when I run my first half marathon and all the other events to come in my life.

I don’t know. Maybe this post is more about me missing her than anything. Even if that is the case, please take one thing away…care for yourself, mind and body. If you are not doing anything now, try 5 minutes…or 1 thing…or something, anything. Please do not consciously contribute to a poor quality of life when you are older and miss the many opportunities to be with your children and eventually grandchildren. They need you, mom. Please take care of yourself.

MeandMom

 

Leave a Reply

