In a million years

24 Feb

Some time back in October 2011 a group of girls from work and I signed up for LoseIt. The first thing you have to do is pick a goal…how much you want to lose and how fast (2 pounds a week or 1 pound a week). I put in a number that I thought was totally unrealistic. In a million years I never thought I would make it. It was a “I wish…/yeah, right” than a “I will”.

This week I crossed that number. Not in a million years….on Wednesday, February 20. HOLY CRAP. Never in a million years did I think it was possible and here I stand, 85 pounds down. A part of me is mortified that I weighed that much, but a much bigger part is super proud of earning every pound lost.  Did I mention that in a million years I never thought it would happen?

I spent the last few days celebrating. The BEST thing was giving my trainer a workout. We had a deal for weeks that once I hit the goal, he would do whatever I said.  It was great to tell him what to do….but it wasn’t as fun as I thought it would be because the man is a machine. Powered through 85 pushups like no big deal. Situps too. Only 10 pull ups (I was being nice there) and 8 heavy bag pushes.  Totally forgot to make him do burpies….maybe next time.

Celebrations continued last night with a night out and some well deserved drinks. Woke up this morning feeling great…drank a lot of water…and headed to the gym. For the first time ever I ran 25 minutes straight. Heck yeah!! Finished the workout with situps and stretching and came home to enjoy an egg white omelet with mushroom and cheddar.

So in the spirit of this celebration, I feel like it is time to take a minute and thank some people for their help over the last 9 months.  In no particular order (and not an exhaustive list by far), I will start with Amber.

Miss Amber, you are my person that showed me it was possible. Without you leading the way I would have never thought it was possible for me. You are my shopping buddy and I LOVE IT that we both don’t shop at LB anymore!

Tony, Tony, Tony. You are the man. I cannot thank you enough for pushing me beyond what I thought was possible. I love that you believe I can do the crazy shit you throw my way way before I believe it. You watched me face my demons and never judged me. Thank you for your patience and for letting me complain. Every time I say “I hate you” I am lying. You are a big part of why I am able to celebrate.

Me and Tony

Carolyn….you unselfishly let me run my first 5k and taught me the secrets of a gluten free lifestyle. Thank you for being such a good friend to me, when I am at my best and worst.

Nicole, Mike, Anthony and Nicholas…from the summer walking back in the day to the Disney vacation to anything and everything in between. You guys are my family and I forever grateful for your friendship.

The girls at work…from signing up to LoseIt, afternoon walk breaks, bringing in better treats, telling me to throw away the cookies, you guys keep me going.

My dad and brother…for letting me choose the restaurant because of my weird eating and your support and encouragement. We are the three amigos!!

My poo poo dog Denver…he gets the good and bad of me and loves me anyway.

Anyone who shared your story with me….it is inspiring to hear of your progress. It is comforting to know I am not alone in this struggle. And it is a joy to be able to celebrate your success with you.

To get something different, you need to do something different. Push yourself. Believe. Work. Fight. You are worth it. You can do it!

 

Leave a Reply

