Three week challenge

3 Mar

Yesterday morning I met a fellow Push Fitness client for coffee. Sioux is bad ass. I sometimes watch her workout while I workout and she is hard core and the stuff she does is amazing.  Every time I would see her doing something crazy I would say to Tony “she is so bad ass…I want to be there one day”.  A few weeks ago I was killing time in the waiting area at Push and was looking through the before and after pictures of some of the success stories and there she was. I couldn’t believe Sioux used to be a fatty like me. There was no way… my workout hero was fat?

I asked her before a workout if it was true and she said yes. I had to know more. This woman already walked where I am trying to go and she knows a part of the story that I can’t get from Tony. I asked her how she made the mental jump from being so big to so fit. Her advice at the time was to go shopping.  Keep trying on the right sized clothes until you believe that is your size. She joked about doing laundry and thinking she shrunk all her clothes when they actually all fit. That is so me!

Last week Sioux saw my before and current picture that Tony posted on the bulletin board and congratulated me on my progress. Then I told her she is my hero and I would like to hear more about how she lost the weight and kept it off. We ended up meeting for coffee yesterday and I learned a lot from her. Our stories are different but there are some strong similarities. She shared her secrets to making it through tough workouts, how friendships changed, how she started to thinking differently, and we even laughed about our trainers. I told her about my plateau… I am the size I was in high school and I don’t know what it is like to be smaller than this… and I’m afraid of what it will take to get there.

Sioux put out a challenge.  Three weeks of clean eating and giving 100% on my workouts all judged by Tony. If I make it then she will work out with me. Holy cow!  Workout with my hero.  Yes!  Three weeks of clean eating, writing it down, no complaining during workouts, giving it 100%, and no popcorn or pretzels. I told her I was a little nervous and she asked “of what, being successful?” Okay, when you put it that way, it does sound dumb. It’s on!

 

One Response to “Three week challenge”

  1. Chrissie Tobas March 4, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    Anne, you have really inspired me over these last few months. I have put on some weight in the last few years and it needs to come off. I lost around 30 pounds after having my daughter from nursing, but I put it all back on after I stopped. Today was my first workout at the gym. I thought I would die. But, seeing how far you have come and your struggles is pushing me to suck it up and just do it. I hope you keep blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

