Fight for it

7 Mar

“90% of growth comes from the last 10% of your performance. When the body says ‘enough’ – because that’s the limit it is used to – the mind must override this and push the body into new frontiers. That is the fundamental formula for results.”

This quote appeared in my Facebook feed today courtesy of Push Fitness. Talk about timely…

 

You know what is annoying? The harder you work, the harder you have to work to get results. I have now crossed in to “skinny people workouts” and I’m not happy. Let me describe half of today’s workout…all with a weighted vest that I’m guessing is about 30 to 40 pounds. Burpies, mountain climbers, plank, and jump squats tabata style…3 rounds…and did I mention the weighted vest? Then one more round without the vest just for kicks. The other half was equally as challenging and tiring. Who thinks of this crap? Freakin’ Tony that’s who…jerk.

I struggled, but I did it. The voices of doubt were LOUD today. There were probably 50 times I wanted to quit, and the workout is only 45 minutes. A few times I started chickening out and had to regroup. Quite a few times I had to tell myself to stop being a baby. Even more times I had to remind myself to quit complaining.

A bad ass doesn’t whine…fight for it…don’t be a baby…quit your bitchin’…just do it already…fight for it…you can do anything for 5 minutes…push…fight for it…

Mother heifer! Why does every workout have to be so hard?  Because I can do it. Because I made progress. Because I fought for every last pound. Because I deserve it. Because I feel AMAZING. Because I CAN do skinny people workouts now.

In a million years I never thought I would be here. Yes, I say that all the time but it is true. I just can’t get over it. I eat vegetables on a regular basis. I fit in to regular size clothes. I can do 40 situps without thinking. I can run an 11 minute mile. I make it through 45 minutes of kickboxing and want more. HOLY CRAP people! This blows my mind. Do I talk about it all the time? Yes. Do I get a little braggy with it? Probably. Do I care? Nope. To get something different, you have to do something different. For the first time in a long time I am pushing myself well beyond my limits and the results incredible. I earned every last pound lost, I fought my mind and body, and I’m owning it all the way!

Leave a Reply

