My new hero

12 Jul

Here is a story about my new hero, Kim Guarino.

Last weekend she organized a special boot camp class at Fit Code as a fundraiser for the American Cancer Society. Even though it was an hour away and “in the city” I decided to go because it was for a great cause. Kim recommended I park on the residential side street and as I turned the corner, I saw this woman walking by in a bright orange t-shirt. At first I thought nothing of it, but then I did a double take and thought to myself “holy crap, that’s Kim!” She looked AMAZING.

Kim used to be a big girl like me. Sometime in the last year she started working out at Fit Code with her husband and they are both turning in to super fit rock stars.

I had a blast that Saturday morning and it was a really great workout. There are 10 stations around the room (squats, push ups, high knees, box jumps, chest press, etc.). You move through the stations with 45 seconds of work, 15 seconds of break for 3 rounds all finished by some core work. It is a challenging workout for people of all fitness levels. This is where they started. I am in total awe of what they have accomplished.

For those of you that have been fit your whole life, the importance of this is probably lost on you. It is like putting on a football uniform and your first game is the super bowl. Sure I can hang with them now. But a year ago, there is NO WAY you would have found me in a class like that. Way too hard, with way too many people to watch the fat kid struggle. Kim and Chris showed up time and again. Amazing. Something to be so proud of. The work pays off….here is the evidence. It was just the inspiration I needed to refocus on my own fitness goals.

Kim and I post-workout

Kim and I post-workout

 

Leave a Reply

