When all else fails, break a sweat

29 Aug

If there is anything I have learned over the past year, it is the basics always hold true. Today’s reminder: When all else fails, break a sweat.

It’s been quite a week. I will spare you the ugly details, but I will say that I am struggling to keep my head above water. No, that’s too dramatic. I am treading water for what feels like days. There is no sun, no breeze, nobody else is in the pool. I am kicking my legs and moving my arms and I’m getting tired. While I’m grateful to be able to tread water and not drown, I’m still frustrated that I’m not moving forward. So what do I do?

The old auto pilot has reared its ugly head. hmmm…I’m feeling tired and stressed so let’s eat sugar…..great idea. I have gathered significant evidence to prove that I feel physically and mentally worse when this old habit kicks in, yet I seem to start here. So now that I realize it has, I need to change what I’m doing…that whole “do something different to get something different” thing. So I tried listening to music, deep breathing, reading, and talking about it. None of that worked. I still felt like crap.

Then tonight I went to a Zumba class. I walked in frustrated and grumpy. I was frustrated about the events of the day. I was frustrated that I am still not back to 100% from my injury and that I have to ease back in to working out. I am frustrated that…(fill in the blank with a bunch of other reasons. And then I just forgot it all and started to dance. Well, at least my version of dancing since my hips just don’t move like Zumba requires.

I could have stayed home tonight to pout. I choose to get out and move. What amazed me a year ago, and what I was reminded of tonight, our bodies are made to move. When you do what it needs, it gives you what you need. Today it was a shift in perspective. To get something different, I need to do something different. Before the old auto pilot even has a chance to kick in, I am going to start with breaking a sweat.

Leave a Reply

